Facebook Starting to Test Fan Page Notifications

My wife just got an interesting e-mail notification from Facebook about a Facebook Page she is a fan of.  The notification was a summary of the activity on the Page for the day.  The text of the e-mail goes as such:

“Here is this week’s summary for the Facebook Page: **************

0 Fans this week (7 total Fans)
0 Wall Posts, Comments, and Likes this week (0 last week)
2 Visits to your page this week (1 Visits last week)

Update your Fans:
http://www.facebook.com/n/?pages%2F*********
Visit your Insights Page:
http://www.facebook.com/n/?business%2Finsights%2F*********
Get more Fans with Facebook Ads:
http://www.facebook.com/n/?ads%2Fcreate%2F&src=pg_edit&fbid=***************

Thanks,
The Facebook Team”

Granted, the Page she was a fan of is not one that gets a lot of activity, it leads me to wonder if Facebook is beginning to enable e-mail notifications for Facebook Page activity on the site.  I wonder if there were comments or Wall posts if those would have been included as well.

Facebook has had amazing notification features for normal user Profiles up to this point, but for Fan Pages, the notifications have been lacking.  Users have been forced to resort to third party solutions such as NutshellMail (of which I am a user) to deliver notifications for such Pages to their e-mail inbox.  On my own Fan Pages for myself and my Facebook books, this has been the biggest complaint amongst Fan Page administrators, that there was no way to be notified off the Facebook.com site when new activity occured on their Fan Page.

It appears this very soon won’t be the problem any more.  Usually when Facebook tests features like this, it means a solution is just around the corner.  Now the big question is, how can I get this enabled on my account?

Is anyone else seeing this on their Facebook Account?  I’m interested to hear what you’re seeing.

This entry was posted in e-mail, e-mail notifications, Facebook, fan page, http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post, notifications, social, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Facebook Starting to Test Fan Page Notifications

  1. suewickes says:

    Yes I have also received these emails today for two pages that I admin.

  2. Amani says:

    Yep, I started to get these notifications just the other day. Like you said, I also look forward to being notified when there is activity on my pages.

  3. I have created three fan pages on Facebook, and I received the notification of activity. Now I'm a big…um fan of substance over style, but even I had to admit that the notification just did not look all that great. Nice feature though.

  4. mikeinmilwaukee says:

    Yes, we just received two diagrams / graphs charts for the FB Group I administrate.

  5. partywedo says:

    I got the report for our pages…

  6. Krishna De says:

    Jesse you mentioned that your wife received a notification for pages she is a fan of?

    I understood this notification was being sent to people who are the facebook Page owners – it was great to receive that this week.

    I think this is a great development – I would be concerned if people got this for Pages they are a fan of and ideally would like the option to choose if it is just the owner of the Page or the Page owner and all/selective adminstrators of the Page.

  7. Its good but sometimes notification mails are irritating.

  8. I have a fan page with only 258 fans, but I do get comments and such now and then. The weekly email tells me my wall posts, comments, and “likes” all as one value, as you see up above (hers says 0 but my last value was 36, I believe). Shame they're not separated and presented more cohesively, but maybe that will come with time.

  9. Jeff Brennan says:

    It still doesn't solve the problem of getting notifications for pages you are a fan of. Since Facebook won't give us page notifications I made an application that would. It gives you updates for Comments, Posts, Links, and Videos sent directly to your phone. Here is the link to the application page.

    http://www.facebook.com/apps/application.php?id

  10. Jesse Stay says:

    Very nice Jeff! I'm curious why you didn't just use Facebook's SMS API so
    you don't have to re-obtain all their mobile information:
    http://wiki.developers.facebook.com/index.php/F

    I'd also love to get e-mail notifications.

  11. Stacy Burgum says:

    Try MonitorMyPage at http://www.monitormypage.com. It automatically monitors your Facebook fan pages or Facebook business pages and looks for changes…new wall posts, comments, links, photos, etc. Then, MonitorMyPage emails the changes to you.

  12. Stacy Burgum says:

    I forgot to mention that MonitorMyPage has a two-week free trial.

  13. I'm the co-founder of WeTeachFacebook, and I was in the same boat as everyone else who has left a comment on this post. I was hoping that Facebook would give me the ability to receive a notification when a fan commented on my page, but I couldn't wait any longer.

    I thought Facebook would add this function at some point, but after waiting for four months (and after trying four different apps)….I decided it would be worth investing the time and money into creating the “Fan Page Monitor”: http://www.weteachfacebook.com/fanpagemonitor/

    The Fan Page Monitor is not free, but knowing when a fan makes a new comment on my page (without having to check it every fifteen minutes) is worth every penny.

    We offer a free 7 day trial, so you can see for yourself, if it is worth the monthly subscription fee for you get reliable notifications sent to your inbox when a fan makes a comment on your page.

  14. attapon chunoo says:

    Please open facebook. Because my question you ask.

    Some images, it does not match the picture. Now facebook. My chest is blocked Lee.

    Please help close the block for me. bell_malesey@hotmail.com

  15. attapon chunoo says:

    Please open facebook. Because my question you ask.

    Some images, it does not match the picture. Now facebook. My chest is blocked Lee.

    Please help close the block for me. bell_malesey@hotmail.com

  16. I'm the co-founder of WeTeachFacebook, and I was in the same boat as everyone else who has left a comment on this post. I was hoping that Facebook would give me the ability to receive a notification when a fan commented on my page, but I couldn't wait any longer.

    I thought Facebook would add this function at some point, but after waiting for four months (and after trying four different apps)….I decided it would be worth investing the time and money into creating the “Fan Page Monitor”: http://www.weteachfacebook.com/fanpagemonitor/

    The Fan Page Monitor is not free, but knowing when a fan makes a new comment on my page (without having to check it every fifteen minutes) is worth every penny.

    We offer a free 7 day trial, so you can see for yourself, if it is worth the monthly subscription fee for you get reliable notifications sent to your inbox when a fan makes a comment on your page.

  17. Stacy Burgum says:

    I forgot to mention that MonitorMyPage has a two-week free trial.

  18. Its good but sometimes notification mails are irritating.

  19. now its live and i think works great as a fan page profile, love it 🙂

Leave a comment