Kill Those Quiz Apps With Facebook’s New Create Applications API

FacebookOkay, the last post was a little technical.  I’m going to try it from a different perspective.  Here’s the real news, and maybe I misunderstood the entire purpose of the new API (although the benefits I stated would be useful to me).  Facebook just made it possible, for some applications (although details are still vague), for users to block all child applications of the parent application.  So now instead of having to block every single quiz you see, you can now block the parent application and you’ll never have to see another quiz from your friends again.  Rejoice!  From the Wiki post:

“Occasionally, parent applications generate so many child applications that users are unable to effectively control the volume of stories – which is why the ability to hide all quiz applications is one our top user requests. As a result, we are experimenting with giving users the ability to hide all the children of a parent application, for only those applications where there is a significant, demonstrated user demand for such a function.”

This means potentially you, the user, have the ability now to hide those pesky Quiz and other similar applications.  Facebook has been vague on what applications they will apply to (and I expect they won’t tell), but it would seem that some users will start seeing this soon.  I, for one, am rejoicing.

This entry was posted in create applications api, Facebook, http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post, quiz, social, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kill Those Quiz Apps With Facebook’s New Create Applications API

  1. […] See my version 2 of this post for an even more interesting perspective on this […]

  2. josh says:

    Jesse –

    I think you got it right in both posts. The true power of the API is in letting plugins and publisher-service providers like Disqus offer integrated features with Facebook Connect without requiring the publisher/blogger to go to Facebook, get an API key, and copy/paste it. This is important because each site/domain needs its own Facebook API key for users to Connect with. Now it's seamless for a service like Disqus or IntenseDebate or JS-Kit's Echo to offer a custom integrated Facebook Connect experience for each site. Anyway, I think that's where the disruptive potential is going to come from.

    That said, I think the side effect of being able to block all children of a parent app helps treat experiences like quizzes and gift apps more like one app as they should be rather than a bunch of independent apps. So that's a good side effect of the feature and will have a more immediate impact on the UX of Facebook.

    -Josh

  3. Jesse Stay says:

    Josh, thanks! I agree with you that this is powerful stuff. Can't wait to start playing with it!

  4. Car Games says:

    I've been Googling all day and I still don't know which system is better for my site; Disqus or Echo? or even maybe Intense Debate.

  5. Whozzo says:

    Ok, so I'm a simple blogger. How do I overcome the traps, create an app… All I want to do is let my friends sign in and comment.
    whozzo@whozzo.com

    Sounds like a simple request to me…

  6. Jesse Stay says:

    Whozzo, have you tried Disqus? http://disqus.com

Leave a comment