New Series: Social Coding

I’ve been contemplating for awhile now a good way to share what I know about Social Software Development and helping business owners, marketers, and developers learn how to set up their own social apps. Especially for developers, I know there are many out there looking for howtos and ways to learn more about starting their own App, promoting it, and getting it off the ground. As the author of FBML Essentials, I feel I am well suited for the task so in the next few days I’m going to start doing howtos and overviews on how you can get your own Apps together. If you’re “the business type”, I may get a little technical on you, but I do recommend you keep watching and forward these onto your IT personell – your CIO, CTO, and the like should read these so they can learn what’s possible to integrate into your existing environments. I’ll also try to throw in a little goodie here and there for “the business type”.

So, I’ve created a new category to the right, “Social Coding” – if you want to track just that, click on the category name and add it to your RSS. I’ve also started a new FriendFeed Room where those involved or that want to get involved in Social Coding can discuss, learn, and talk with each other. You can subscribe to that here.

Let’s start by going over the types of sites I could cover. Here are just a few – let me know if you have a particular interest in learning about how to code for any one in particular:

  • Facebook
  • OpenSocial
  • Google Friend Connect
  • Twitter
  • FriendFeed
  • Pligg
  • Digg
  • LinkedIn
  • MySpace
  • WordPress
  • MoveableType
  • Google App Engine
  • Bungee Connect

Stay tuned! I’ll keep posting news and other rants as we go forward – I’ll just be adding in some good howtos at the same time. Oh, and if you’re a developer and would like to do a howto in your preferred language for us, contact me – I’d love to let you do a guest post.

This entry was posted in Current Projects, Facebook, facebook coding, facebook development, facebook platform, fbml essentials, Google, Google Apps Engine, Howtos, http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post, MySpace, OpenSocial, OSS, Perl, Pligg, Social Coding, Social Media, Social Network Optimization, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Series: Social Coding

  1. Don't forget about Ringside Social Application Server (http://www.ringsidenetworks.org), which enables local facebook application development, amongst some other value added capabilities.

  2. jessestay says:

    Brian,

    Would you like to do a guest blog post on RingsideNetworks? I'd really like
    to see a howto of how it works.

  3. jessestay says:

    Brian,

    Would you like to do a guest blog post on RingsideNetworks? I'd really like
    to see a howto of how it works.

Leave a comment