New Executive Title – “CSO”, or “Chief Social Officer”

I am the CSO, or Chief Social Officer for my new company, SNAPlicate. I have interpreted it to be a mashup of a CTO, with a social twist. I am in charge of ensuring my company stays up on social technologies, has communication and networking with other Social developers, and keeping an overall social direction for the company. As a Social Development and Innovation company, I think companies like SNAPlicate need positions like mine to keep them in a forward-moving direction. I wonder how many other social-related positions will be created from this new wave of platform development.

I guess I should use this opportunity to tell a little about SNAPlicate. We’re a social development and innovations firm, perhaps somewhat similar to RockYou, or Slide that also outsources work for other companies desiring a social direction. I am starting this company with my partner, Allan Young (our COO), and already we have applications such as our Holy Rolls suite of meta-religious apps, the SAC App, the GrandCentral App, and several other apps currently in development I will announce shortly. Several of the apps we have developed have tens of thousands of users on them, and we have consulted and helped architect other applications with millions of users. I’ll be updating snaplicate.com soon with more details, so stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Business, Current Projects, Facebook, Google, OSS, Social Media, SocialOptimize.com, Stay N' Alive. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to New Executive Title – “CSO”, or “Chief Social Officer”

  1. […] So what does a CSO do, anyway?  In the interest of sharing, this post features a quickly-cobbled together job description.  After searching a few top search engines, I couldn’t find any job descriptions for the title of “Chief Social Officer”, although I did find a partial writeup. […]

Leave a comment